Corrected entry: During Dave Simms' tournament, Dave does not take Roy's advice and thus decides to lay up, even though he hired and paid Roy to caddy for him (club him, etc.), as Roy "once shot a 59" there and knew "every bump on every fairway and every subtle break on every green". Also, there is no sign of Molly at this event.
Corrected entry: During one of the qualifying competitions, Earl is too exhausted to carry on caddying for Roy. Roy leaves Earl behind and plays the rest of the round without him. But a couple of shots later when Roy gets to the green, Earl is holding the flagstick while Roy putts.
Corrected entry: In the final round Roy hits an errant second shot and his ball lands near a portaloo. He then hits the ball and purposely ricochets the ball off it. The rules states that if an object is not a permanent fixture on the course you can get relief, such as grandstands and camera towers. It's highly implausible that a professional golfer would not take advantage of that rule.Arthur Ashe
Corrected entry: On the final hole of the Open, when Roy finally gets the ball in the hole from the fairway, he retrieves the ball from the hole and throws it into the water in front of the green. A few spectators then run across the green to get the ball from the water. All this happens and Simms hasn't finished the hole yet. Officials would never have permitted this to take place, since Simms hadn't finished the hole yet. As a matter of fact, he hadn't even reached the green.
Corrected entry: It is strange that Roy can hit his 7 iron 220 yards, yet can't seem to hit his 3 wood 235 yards. Why would he bother carrying his 2 - 6 iron?
Corrected entry: After Roy destroys all his clubs when he's trying to qualify for the Open, he apparently pars the backside with a 7-iron. However, in the shot where he putts with the back of the 7-iron, it would be a 2-stroke penalty since no club can be hit backwards except the putter.
Corrected entry: On the last hole, when Roy hit all those balls in the water, Romeo hands him a 6th ball and tells him it is the last ball in the bag and if he loses it, they will be disqualified. Then they cut to Ken Venturi, who announces that if he loses this ball he will be disqualified. While it is true in the standard rules of golf that if you run out of balls during a round you are disqualified, there is no way Ken Venturi would have known that it was his last ball.
Corrected entry: Kevin Costner is able to hit a 7 iron which travels over 240 yards with a pathetic looking swing. I know there are freaks out there who can do that but these are powerfully built guys with awesome swings. Costner is able to do it with what looks like a 1/2 or 3/4 swing let alone a full swing.
You may like...
Join the mailing list
Addresses are not passed on to any third party, and are used solely for direct communication from this site. You can unsubscribe at any time.