Porridge (1973)

Episode list

(0 votes)

Add something
Show generally 2
Season 1
Season 1 generally 0
1 New Faces, Old Hands 0
2 The Hustler 0
3 A Night In 0
4 A Day Out 2
5 Ways and Means 0
6 Men Without Women 1
Season 2
Season 2 generally 0
1 Just Desserts 0
2 Heartbreak Hotel 0
3 Disturbing the Peace 2
4 Happy Release 0
5 The Harder They Fall 0
6 No Peace for the Wicked 0
7 No Way Out 0
8 The Desperate Hours 1
Season 3
Season 3 generally 0
1 A Storm in a Teacup 0
2 Poetic Justice 0

You may like...

Join the mailing list

Addresses are not passed on to any third party, and are used solely for direct communication from this site. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Add something
Buy the booksMost popular pagesBest movie mistakesBest mistake picturesBest comedy movie quotesMovies with the most mistakesNew this monthTitanic mistakesJurassic Park mistake pictureThe King of Queens mistakesMan on Fire endingFriends questionsSex and the City triviaStep Brothers quotesThe Notebook plotJason Statham movies & TV showsBillion-dollar movie mistakesPirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl mistake video
More for Porridge


Throughout the whole show Godber, 'Bunny' Warren, McLaren, the Prison Governor and many of the guards refer to Fletcher as a Cockney. He even identifies himself as a Cockney on a number of occasions. However, in several episodes he refers to his upbringing in Muswell Hill and in this episode he refers to his having been born there - and we see his old stamping ground in that episode when he gets a weekend's compassionate leave. Nobody from Muswell Hill would ever refer to himself as a Cockney - Muswell Hill isn't even in East London!



There was an American version of this classic UK show. It was titled On the Rocks. The script was reworked in order to make the style of humour suit the audience. It lasted one series before being cancelled in May '76.